Read reviews

Please read what our guests have to say about their stay with us.

Reviews

There are (3) Sunbird Motel user reviews
YoungMans
Very convenient and tidy Motel.
July 29, 2018 - Really Liked It
After travelling through the Outback I needed accommodation in Townsville.
Everything was booked out because of the football game.
I entered into the GPS to indicate the nearest motels and it came up with the Sunbird Motel. The plan was to stay only one night but, when I felt the vibes of the people staying there long-term I booked for two nights.
There are motels in the best locations and with the most fantastic mod-cons, and the cost a mint accordingly.
Then there are motels like the Sunbird, that don't cost nearly as much but where one becomes just about part of the family; a nice and friendly atmosphere.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, the motel is conveniently located and the price for all that is just right.
Cheers, YoungMans.
YoungMans
Very convenient and tidy Motel.
July 29, 2018 - Really Liked It
After travelling through the Outback I needed accommodation in Townsville.
Everything was booked out because of the football game.
I entered into the GPS to indicate the nearest motels and it came up with the Sunbird Motel. The plan was to stay only one night but, when I felt the vibes of the people staying there long-term I booked for two nights.
There are motels in the best locations and with the most fantastic mod-cons, and the cost a mint accordingly.
Then there are motels like the Sunbird, that don't cost nearly as much but where one becomes just about part of the family; a nice and friendly atmosphere.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, the motel is conveniently located and the price for all that is just right.
Cheers, YoungMans.
NOT Pet friendly
October 30, 2016 - Didn't Like It
I had to stay here at a spare of the moment thing, I did book in my dog but she slept in the car and came into the room the next morning for water and an shower, unfortunately I left her water bowl there and had to phone up, on getting the manager of the property I asked about the bowl in which she went on and on about having my dog there who is old, after he saying did you have your dog here I wasn't aware of that, but then went onto mention how my dog stunk out her room etc, which I thought was very rude how she had to buy spray for the room etc. and after my husband dropped by to get the bowl days later she was still going on about the smell which he couldn't smell it just her artificial sprays, if it was a pet friendly place wouldn't you have the cleaning products on board, and not go on and on when you have stated that you didn't know that the dog was there.. I would like to see that you remove the PET FRIENDLY from your advertising because its false and I am sick and tired of coming across people like you, I will be telling everyone that asks about your motel not to go there, it was your bedding and towels etc that STUNK ..
There are (18) Reviews from around the web
tripadvisor
February 1, 2016 - Really Liked It
As everyone has already written in their reviews, it truely is a great place to stay. Very friendly hosts ....Don't come across that too often! Thanks Debbie and I DID have a giggle at that sign you have at reception!

by: Bernard K, Stayed February 2016, travelled solo
tripadvisor
February 1, 2016 - Really Liked It
Lovely people very helpful, great place to stay just outside Townsville and we had a good laugh at the fun sign ( IF YOU WANT BREAKFAST IN BED SLEEP IN THE KITCHEN ) GOOD FUN
Really pleasant place to stay easy to find

by: Lorraine B, Stayed February 2016, travelled with family
tripadvisor
January 1, 2016 - Liked It
On the highway outside of Townsville, nothing to do, other than watch TV or passing traffic, no pool either, but does have microwave, etc. in the room for food. The room is clean, large with a comfortable bed. Cheaper and better accommodation options in Townsville, which is only 20 mins drive.

by AlgoaDoors, Stayed January 2016
tripadvisor
December 1, 2015 - Really Liked It
Left it late to find a place to stay, then I found this little gem, owners very welcoming, room spotless, all mod cons. Great nights sleep, smashing restaurant ( menu in the room so you can phone in your order)and pubs just down the road

by: kacket, Stayed December 2015, travelled solo

tripadvisor
November 1, 2015 - Really Liked It
I stayed here during a world record attempt rickshaw ride, and it was the perfect spot to break my trip! Adam and the team made me very welcome, and the room contained everything I needed and more: air conditioning, tv, fridge, toaster, kettle, table and chairs and super comfortable bed.

I highly recommend this spot to break up a long trip and enjoy the peace and quiet!

by: CrysiDavis, Stayed November 2015, travelled solo
tripadvisor
October 6, 2015 - Really Liked It
We went up to Townsville for a Family catch up. Stayed at Sunbird due to good pricing and position if you dont want the hussle n bussle of in town. The propieters Deb n Adam very welcoming and helping, great casual approach to all. Rooms cater for all aspects of traveller from singles, couples , families and also travellers with pets. Great place for a break on your travels.

Room Tip: Caters to all no problem

by: Roman, JStayed October 2015, travelled as a couple
tripadvisor
September 16, 2015 - Really Liked It
Sunbird is a nice clean motel. Owners are friendly and accomodating. It is right on the highway, but not too noisy. Air con is awesome. Fair way from the city but we were staying because of sporting commitments out of the city. Will go back!

by: BobNTrude, Stayed May 2015, travelled with family
tripadvisor
June 26, 2015 - Really Liked It
Just stayed overnight at Sunbird. highly recommend this place. You don't find friendly people like this everywhere. They really do look after you. Its a relatively small motel from what i could tell and very nice gardens and bush surounds. only just out of town. good room, good price. cant wait to stay there again.

Stayed June 2015, travelled on business
tripadvisor
June 1, 2015 - Really Liked It
This place is great with down to earth real accodating owners. Very friendly and rooms are clean and tidy! Outside the busy city nice and quiet even though it's on the main highway. Very comfortable place to stay!!!

by: Learningtheropes91, Stayed March 2015, travelled on business
tripadvisor
May 15, 2015 - Really Liked It
Great little place with tiled floors and comfortable beds. We were weary travellers with pets and Sunbitd was an oasis to break up the journey. Friendly staff, great location just out of town. Nice lawn area for dogs to run around on.

by: portprincess, Stayed May 2015, travelled with family